SECA Award Winners Announced

The San Francisco Museum of Modern Art announced their 2010 SECA Award winners yesterday: Mauricio Ancalmo, Colter Jacobsen, Ruth Laskey, and Kamau Amu Patton.  The award honors San Francisco area artists who are “working independently at a high level of artistic maturity but who have not yet received substantial recognition.”  Each artist will be featured in an exhibition at SFMOMA in fall 2011.  Congratulations to the winners!

Colter Jacobsen, Clair de Lune (2008). Graphite on found on paper, 30.5 x 61 cm.

Kamau Amu Patton, photograph of in-progress installation, undated. From the website of Alphonse Berber Projects.

Ruth Laskey, Twill Series (Blue Gray) (2010). Hand-woven and hand-dyed linen, 21 x 30 inches.

Mauricio Ancalmo, Monolithoscope/Deconstructive Mechanical Soundscape Striation Series/#3 (2009). Archival inkjet print 24 x 40 inches; edition of 5.